The Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett audio Nigel Planer

The Light Fantastic (Discworld, #2)The Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Original review was for paperback

These early Discworld novels may be shorter than the newer ones but packed full of details and characters. I found it so hard to put down I had finished reading it the same night I started. Rincewind is such an unlikely hero and its only the spell in his read that keeps him alive!

The characters around him are so well described that it brings them alive. The impossible situations they get out of somehow are well written. I particularly love the way he describes the wizards at the Unseen University.

A great fantasy novel and a fantastic part of the Discworld series.

Just listened to audio version a year on from re-reading. Planer growing on me as narrator. Not sure about tinkling bells to end sections or way the footnotes were read…

View all my reviews

About Lakes Mum

Doing a little bit to help out with IT and family history
This entry was posted in Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment